Home > Honorary Board Members

Honorary Board Members

Ellunnamedis Avery

The only writer ever to have received the American Library Association Stonewall Award for Fiction twice, Ellis Avery is the author of two novels, two memoirs, and a book of poetry. Her novels, The Last Nude (Riverhead 2012) and The Teahouse Fire (Riverhead 2006) have also received Lambda, Ohioana, and Golden Crown awards, and her work has been translated into six languages. She teaches fiction writing at Columbia University and is studying to become a physician assistant.  She narrates her LMS experience in her memoir, THE FAMILY TOOTH.